Private Space Capsule Launch ‘Mind-Blowingly Awesome’

Link: Private Space Capsule Launch ‘Mind-Blowingly Awesome’

SpaceX’s first operational Dragon spacecraft launched aboard the company’s Falcon 9 rocket at 10:43 a.m. EST (1543 GMT) from the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station’s Launch Complex 40.

The capsule made two orbits of the Earth at speeds greater than 17,000 mph (over 27,300 kilometers per hour), according to SpaceX officials. It then re-entered the Earth’s atmosphere and splashed down in the Pacific Ocean shortly after 2 p.m. EST (1900 GMT). The entire mission lasted almost 3 hours and 20 minutes.

This launch will make history! Congratulations to SpaceX!

Via space.com

Advertisements

Author: David Cantatore

International polymorph geek.